Past Exhibition

Kirstine Roepstorff: Walking Beside Time

Walking Beside Time

August 31, 2013 - November 17, 2013

The works of the Danish artist Kirstine Roepstorff are based upon the principle of collage. They range from small, intimate paper works to large-sized, theatrical installations. The artist employs images and texts from newspapers and magazines, historical material or elements from advertising. She incorporates all this into her work, arranging it through a process of copying, scaling, cutting out, and ordering to form surprisingly new pictures. About her work she says: “I am working with the methodology of collage in order to appropriate the world for myself and to arrange it in a new way.” For the Kunstpalais Kirstine Roepstorff opens new perspectives on the world.

Kirstine Roepstorff was born in 1972 in Copenhagen. Today she lives and works in Berlin. In 2012 she had a solo exhibition at the National Museum of Art, Architecture and Design, Oslo, in 2011 at the Museum für Gegenwartskunst in Basel and in 2010 at the Galerie im Taxispalais, Innsbruck, and the Stadtgalerie Schwaz.

More Information

Freedom!

April 12, 2013 - August 04, 2013

The Kunstpalais dedicates a group exhibition to the topic 'freedom' due to the 200th anniversary of the decisive battle of the nations of the wars of liberation in 1813. Recent revolutions in the Arab world are regarded as a starting point for the exhibition and some of the artworks are dealing with this subject. The concept of the show seeks to investigate the topic of political liberty, the fight for democracy and human rights, the desire for departure and the struggle for self-determination.
What does freedom mean today? Ilija Trojanow, Juli Zeh and Mathias Döpfner have already warned to give up freedom in order to apparently achieve more security. In his book 'Die Freiheitsfalle' ('The Trap of Freedom') Döpfner writes that for Europeans liberty is solely an emotional, subjective experience whereas for other peoples freedom often means an existential strug-gle for basic rights: 'Europeans marvel and comment on how Americans, Chinese, Indians, Brazilians and Arabs change the world. The defence of freedom as a universal value has hardly a powerful voice in Europe any more. The old world has become old.' Is that true?
Twelve internationally renowned artists examine the highly explosive topic from various points of view. Numerous new artworks have been created for the show.


Amongst others with: Alexander Apóstol (Venezuela), Johanna Billing (Sweden), CAMP (India), Haejun Jo (South Korea), Bouchra Khalili (Morocco), Nikolaj Bendix Skyum Larsen (Denmark), Klara Lidén (Sweden), Lars Ø Ramberg (Norway), Nedko Solakov (Bulgaria), Ai Weiwei (China), Artur Zmijewski (Poland).

More Information

ZULETZT AUSGESTELLT

Kirstine Roepstorff: Walking Beside Time

Walking Beside Time

31. August bis 17. November 2013

Die Arbeiten der dänischen Künstlerin Kirstine Roepstorff basieren auf dem Prinzip der Collage. Sie reichen von kleinen, intimen Papierarbeiten bis zu großformatigen, theatralischen Installationen. Die Künstlerin verwendet Bilder und Texte aus Zeitungen, Magazinen, historischem Material oder Werbung, bezieht diese in ihre eigene Arbeit mit ein und arrangiert sie schließlich in einem Prozess des Kopierens, Skalierens, Ausschneidens und Anordnens zu überraschend neuen Bildern. Sie selbst sagt darüber: „Ich arbeite mit der Methodik der Collage, um mir die Welt anzueignen und sie neu zu arrangieren.“ Für das Kunstpalais ist eine neue Weltschau entstanden.

Kirstine Roepstorff wurde 1972 in Kopenhagen geboren und lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. 2012 war sie mit einer Einzelausstellung im National Museum of Art, Architecture and Design, Oslo zu sehen, 2011 im Museum für Gegenwartskunst in Basel und 2010 in der Galerie im Taxispalais, Innsbruck, und der Stadtgalerie Schwaz.

mehr Infos

FREIHEIT!

12. April bis 04. August 2013

Zum 200. Jahrestag der entscheidenden Völkerschlacht der Freiheitskriege im Jahr 1813 wird sich das Kunstpalais in seiner Gruppenausstellung dem Thema "Freiheit" widmen. Ausgehend von den Revolutionen im arabischen Raum, die in zahlreichen künstlerischen Werken thematisiert werden, spüren wir in unserer Konzeption dem Thema der politischen Freiheit nach, dem Kampf um Demokratie und Menschenrechte, dem Wunsch nach Aufbruch und dem Ringen um Selbstbestimmung.
Was bedeutet Freiheit heute? Ilija Trojanow, Juli Zeh und Mathias Döpfner warnen davor, Freiheit für vermeintlich mehr Sicherheit aufzugeben. Döpfner schrieb in „Die Freiheitsfalle“, für die Europäer sei Freiheit nurmehr ein emotionales, subjektives Erlebnis, für andere bedeute sie den existentiellen Kampf um Grundrechte: „Die Europäer bestaunen und kommentieren, wie Amerikaner, Chinesen, Inder, Brasilianer oder Araber die Welt verändern. Die Verteidigung der Freiheit als universaler Wert hat in Europa kaum noch eine kraftvolle Stimme. Die alte Welt ist alt geworden.“ Stimmt das?
12 internationale Künstler beleuchten das brisante Thema aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven. Zahlreiche Künstler werden neue Arbeiten konzipieren.

U.a. mit: Alexander Apóstol (Venezuela), Johanna Billing (Schweden), CAMP (Indien), Haejun Jo (Südkorea), Bouchra Khalili (Marokko), Nikolaj Bendix Skyum Larsen (Dänemark), Klara Lidén (Schweden), Lars Ø. Ramberg (Norwegen), Nedko Solakov (Bulgarien), Ai Weiwei (China), Artur Zmijewski (Polen)

mehr Infos