Upcoming Exhibition

Alona Rodeh. Architecture of the Nights

Opening: March 15, 2019
Exhibition: March 16, 2019 - June 10, 2019

Light, movement, and sound: In her room-spanning, performative installations the artist Alona Rodeh (*1979 in Tel Aviv, Israel) translates the nocturnal design of our cities into aesthetic spaces of experience. With Architecture of the Nights the Kunstpalais hosts her first institutional solo exhibition in Germany. Based on the term ‘Architecture of the Night’, coined by US-architect Raymond Hood in 1930, Rodeh develops her artistic approach to urban illumination. This approach is grounded both on a careful examination of technical components as well as in-depth cultural-historic research on the use of artificial light.


Rodeh’s art as a whole is fueled by her particular interest in the qualities of materials and objects that shape our visual environment – sometimes subtle and almost hidden, sometimes glaring and calling for attention. Often those are items in which aspects of security and visibility overlap. Fluorescent colors and reflective gear played a central role in her works. In her latest productions LED-elements, programmed for subtle choreographies by the artist, take center stage as new protagonists in her “performances without performers”. As a result installations emerge, monolithic and filigree at once, that lead a luminescent life of their own filling the Kunstpalais’ dark vaults with enigmatic presence.


In the early 20th century the Bauhaus teacher László Moholy-Nagy (1895-1946) dreamed of mechanical apparatuses that via a multitude of flash and color effects could compose large-scale light structures in midair. His aim to move art forward into the third dimension became reified in works like the Light-Space-Modulator from 1930 – the same year Raymond Hood developed his thoughts around light architecture. Alona Rodeh draws from this rich legacy and conveys it into contemporary circumstances.


A substantial exhibition catalog accompanying the solo show takes up the theoretical threads of her project, along with documenting the artist’s new works. Safe and Sound: The Third Dimension will be the third in Rodeh’s ongoing series of artist publications. Additionally two scientific guest contributions shed light onto the issue of the use of light and sound systems in night clubs as well as the mental consequences of blackouts in the war years.


 


Funded by 


 


Image: Alona Rodeh, Smooth Operator, 2018, MDF, plywood, LED lights, speakers, 373 x 212 x 50 cm,  © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019, Courtesy the artist and Christine König Galerie, Vienna, photo: Ludger Paffrath

KOMMENDE AUSSTELLUNG

Alona Rodeh. Architecture of the Nights

Eröffnung: 15. März 2019
Ausstellung: 16. März - 10. Juni 2019

Die Installationen von Alona Rodeh (*1979 in Nahariya, Israel) sind nicht selten durchkomponierte Gesamtkunstwerke, in denen die Grenzen zwischen Video, Skulptur, Foto und Lichtkunst fließend werden. Sie setzt sich in ihren Arbeiten mit ästhetischen Entscheidungen der Öffentlichkeit auseinander und reflektiert kulturelle Phänomene mit einer lebhaften Bildsprache. Neben LEDs, wie sie in Fahrzeugen oder architektonischen Elementen verbaut werden, kommen oft reflektierende Materialien in ihren Werken zum Einsatz.


Rodeh, die in Tel Aviv, London und Wien studiert hat, entwickelte in den letzten Jahren ein besonderes künstlerisches Interesse an Ästhetiken, die mit den Bereichen Sicherheit und Sichtbarkeit zu tun haben: leuchtende Kennzeichnungen von Notausgängen etwa, die es jemandem in einem brennenden Gebäude ermöglichen sollen, den kürzesten Weg in Sicherheit zu finden. Oder high visibility clothing, wie sie von Rettungskräften getragen wird. Die Feuerwehr etwa, die mit feuerfesten, reflektierenden Overalls Brände bekämpfen muss, spielt in mehreren Arbeiten der Künstlerin sogar eine Hauptrolle. Im israelischen Jaffa und in Berlin, wo Rodeh mittlerweile lebt, fing sie in collageartigen Bildern Eindrücke aus lokalen Feuerwachen auf und verarbeitete diese zu atmosphärisch aufgeladenen Videos.


In ihrer Ausstellung im Kunstpalais, die den Titel Architecture of the Nights trägt, beschäftigt sich Rodeh thematisch verstärkt mit Licht – sowie mit dessen Abwesenheit. Ausgehend vom Begriff der „Architecture of the Night“, der 1930 durch den amerikanischen Architekten Raymond Hood mit Bezug auf die damals neuen technischen Beleuchtungsmöglichkeiten geprägt wurde, entwickelt die Künstlerin raumübergreifende Installationen, in denen verschiedenste Referenzen an die nächtlichen Lichter der Stadt anklingen werden.


Neue, eigens für das Kunstpalais angefertigte Werke werden dabei durch bereits existierende Arbeiten thematisch passend ergänzt. Zur Ausstellung erscheint darüber hinaus ein umfangreicher Katalog, in dem Alona Rodeh die Tradition ihrer bisherigen Künstlerpublikationen fortschreibt: Eingeladene Autor*innen aus den Bereichen Wissenschaft und Kunst nehmen sich der Themenwelt der Künstlerin an und erweitern sie um Textbeiträge aus dem aktuellen Forschungskontext.


 


Abb.: Alona Rodeh, The Curves of Jaffa, 2017, Straßenmarkierungsfarbe auf Asphalt, ca 56 x 28 Meter,  © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018