Ausstellung-Detailseite

16.01.–30.01.2022

Long Distance Call - Operndorf Afrika at Kunstpalais

More than ten years ago, Christoph Schlingensief laid the foundation stone for Operndorf Afrika. Since then, the art project has become an internationally renowned cultural institution well known beyond Burkina Faso and the African continent. In 2015 it has been expanded by an artist-in-residence program. Long Distance Call – Operndorf Afrika at Kunstpalais offers a renewed opportunity for the four artists-in-residence of 2020 to come together in Germany, consisting of a two-week exhibition and a diverse program of events.

Diana Ejaita (IT), Rahima Gambo (NI), Taiwo Jacob Ojudun (NI), and Anja Saleh (DE) will bring the core idea of Operndorf Afrika – intercultural exchange – to Erlangen with the intensity of a small festival through performances, talks, workshops, film screenings and more. The public space of the city will also be played on and shaped. Questions of intercontinental solidarity, collective memory culture and postcolonialism (also from an African perspective) will be discussed together with the Erlangen audience.

The residency project in Burkina Faso was curated by photographer and author Akinbode Akinbiyi. In cooperation with Operndorf Afrika, Kunstpalais carries on the guiding idea of "Learning from Africa" through Long Distance Call: mutual enrichment and the search for new ways of togetherness can thus be experienced – in both artistic and social terms.

 

Image: Performance of the artist Taiwo Ojudun Jacob in Lagos

Vernissage: 15.01.2022
back

Ausstellung-Detailseite

16.01.–30.01.2022

Long Distance Call - Das Operndorf Afrika im Kunstpalais

Vor über zehn Jahren legte Christoph Schlingensief den Grundstein für das Operndorf Afrika. Seitdem hat sich das Kunstprojekt über Burkina Faso und den afrikanischen Kontinent hinaus zu einer international renommierten Kulturinstitution entwickelt und wurde 2015 um ein Artist-in-Residence-Programm erweitert. Mit Long Distance Call – das Operndorf Afrika im Kunstpalais bietet sich für die vier Residenzkünstler*innen des Jahres 2020 in Deutschland eine erneute Möglichkeit der Zusammenkunft, die neben einer zweiwöchigen Ausstellung ein vielfältiges Veranstaltungsprogramm umfasst.

Diana Ejaita (IT), Rahima Gambo (NI), Taiwo Jacob Ojudun (NI) und Anja Saleh (DE) werden durch Performances, Gespräche, Workshops, Filmvorführungen und anderes mehr den Kerngedanken des Operndorfs Afrika – den interkulturellen Austausch – mit der Intensität eines kleinen Festivals nach Erlangen bringen. Dabei wird auch der öffentliche Raum der Stadt mit einbezogen und gestaltet. Fragen nach interkontinentaler Solidarität, kollektiver Erinnerungskultur und Postkolonialismus (auch aus afrikanischer Perspektive) werden dabei gemeinsam mit dem Erlanger Publikum erörtert.

Kuratiert wurde das Residenzprojekt in Burkina Faso vom Fotografen und Autor Akinbode Akinbiyi. In Kooperation mit dem Operndorf Afrika führt das Kunstpalais mit Long Distance Call die Leitidee „Von Afrika lernen“ fort: gegenseitige Bereicherung und die Suche nach neuen Wegen des Miteinanders wird so erlebbar – in künstlerischer wie in sozialer Hinsicht.

 

Abbildung: Performance des Künstlers Taiwo Ojudun Jacob in Lagos

Vernissage: 15.01.2022
zurück