Ausstellung-Detailseite

12/10/2022 – 03/05/2023

Pattern Recognition. Revisiting the Municipal Collection Erlangen

For over 50 years international contemporary art has been collected in Erlangen. With a focus on graphics, multiples, photography, and new media, the Municipal Art Collection encompasses a wide range of multiplied and serial art and today lists such important names as Joseph Beuys, Christo and Jeanne-Claude, Nan Goldin, Keith Haring, Rebecca Horn, Sigmar Polke, Gerhard Richter, and Andy Warhol, among others. It documents formative trends in art of the postwar period and thus sees itself as a history of ideas in art after 1945.

Pattern Recognition. Revisiting the Municipal Collection Erlangen examines the rich collection fund against the backdrop of numerous upheavals in art and society since the collection's founding years. New technical processes, changes in political systems, globalization in general, but also a general change in the norms of seeing and exhibiting raise the question of where and when the contemporary merges into the historical. Aesthetic as well as thematic commonalities of the various works, in turn, also testify to the constants of artistic creation in the advancing 21st century.

By juxtaposing eleven long-standing works from the collection with eleven new acquisitions or loans by younger artists, the exhibition sets out to find patterns, similarities, and differences that underlie the diverse artistic strategies. The result is eleven intense dialogues that look back over five decades of art history and from which forward-looking narratives simultaneously emerge.

With works by:

Monira Al Qadiri, Athanasios Argianas, Thomas Bayrle, Anna & Bernhard Blume, Martin Disler, Aleksandra Domanović, Jack Goldstein, Eugen Gomringer, Keith Haring, John Hilliard, Sofia Hultén, Fritz Koenig, Simon Lehner, Lawrence Lek, Richard Long, Frida Orupabo, Alona Rodeh, Paul Mpagi Sepuya, Nora Turato, Cy Twombly, Wolf Vostell, Sonja Yakovleva

 

Vernissage: 09.12.2022
back

Ausstellung-Detailseite

10.12.2022 – 05.03.2023

Pattern Recognition. Wiedersehen mit der Städtischen Sammlung Erlangen

Seit über 50 Jahren wird in Erlangen internationale zeitgenössische Kunst gesammelt. Mit einem Fokus auf Grafiken, Multiples, Fotografie und neue Medien umfasst die Städtische Sammlung eine reiche Bandbreite multiplizierter und serieller Kunst und listet heute so bedeutende Namen wie u. a. Joseph Beuys, Christo und Jeanne-Claude, Nan Goldin, Keith Haring, Rebecca Horn, Sigmar Polke, Gerhard Richter oder Andy Warhol auf. Sie bildet prägende Kunstströmungen der Nachkriegszeit ab und versteht sich daher als eine Ideengeschichte der Kunst nach 1945.

Pattern Recognition. Wiedersehen mit der Städtischen Sammlung Erlangen untersucht den reichen Sammlungsbestand vor dem Hintergrund zahlreicher Umwälzungen in Kunst und Gesellschaft seit den Gründungsjahren der Sammlung. Neue technische Verfahren, Veränderungen politischer Systeme, die Globalisierung allgemein, aber auch ein genereller Wandel in den Normen von Sehen und Ausstellen lassen die Frage aufkommen, wo und wann das Zeitgenössische ins Historische übergeht. Ästhetische wie inhaltliche Gemeinsamkeiten der verschiedenen Arbeiten zeugen wiederum auch von den Konstanten künstlerischen Schaffens im fortschreitenden 21. Jahrhundert.

In der Gegenüberstellung von elf langjährigen Sammlungswerken mit elf Neuerwerbungen bzw. Leihgaben jüngerer Künstler*innen macht sich die Ausstellung auf die Suche nach Mustern, Ähnlichkeiten und Unterschieden, die den diversen künstlerischen Strategien zugrunde liegen. So entstehen elf intensive Dialoge, die auf über fünf Jahrzehnte Kunstgeschichte zurückblicken und aus denen sich zugleich zukunftsweisende Erzählungen entwickeln.

Mit Werken von:

Monira Al Qadiri, Athanasios Argianas, Thomas Bayrle, Anna & Bernhard Blume, Martin Disler, Aleksandra Domanović, Jack Goldstein, Eugen Gomringer, Keith Haring, John Hilliard, Sofia Hultén, Fritz Koenig, Simon Lehner, Lawrence Lek, Richard Long, Frida Orupabo, Alona Rodeh, Paul Mpagi Sepuya, Nora Turato, Cy Twombly, Wolf Vostell, Sonja Yakovleva



Vernissage: 09.12.2022
zurück